Who should I submit to? – How To Research Agents and Target Submissions

Since I’m getting ready to query a book, I’ve spent the last several weeks combing through query and agent resources and selecting my own top candidates. In this post I’ll share some of the helpful things I’ve learned.

First, a full list of resources. I’ll explain more about what they are and how they can be used below.

Resources:

Julie’s Method

When first building your list of potential agents, I recommend using AgentQuery and QueryTracker, which allow you to search for agents by the genres they represent. This allows you to compile an EVERYBODY list from the get-go, so if your top choices don’t work out you still have a huge pool to choose from right at your fingertips.

Another great thing to do at the beginning is to search Twitter using the hashtag #MSWL. Sometimes agents tweet very specific things they’d like to see in stories, which they mark with the acronym MSWL (Manuscript Wishlist). This might help you earmark a few agents to investigate more closely as potentials, or you might even find the perfect match! Also worth noting, the MSWL movement is not unique to Twitter. If your work is high concept, try Googling “MSWL + [keyword(s) that describe your novel]” and see if anything comes up on agent blogs!

Once you have a full list, whittle the pool down to your top choices. You might have a top 20, a top 10, a top 5. The important thing is to target your submissions to agents you think A) will be a good fit with your work–this book, and potentially future projects B) you would like to work with or C) both of the above.

I found the easiest way to focus the list down in the beginning (from 100+ agents to 18 in my case) was to read what agents were seeking. Represented genres are neatly listed on QueryTracker, but agent bios and interviews offer more specific insight. For example, QT might tell you that an agent reps both young adult and middle grade books, but their personal page might specify they want contemporary stories or are open to fantastic elements. Use available information to your advantage.

Once you have a narrowed list, begin deeper research. When you have your top [5-25] choices lined up, go deeper. Now is the time to check client lists (QT), sales history (Publishers Marketplace, AgentQuery), career highlights (PM again), agent and agency reputations (Preds & Eds, Absolute Write), the agent’s personal pages (social media) and tastes (as reflected in interviews and the books they represent, which you can read summaries of on Goodreads). Form your own impressions of the agency by browsing their website, history, and the books and authors they represent.

Weigh all of these things carefully, and if you still need to tighten your list, consider these factors:

  • How experienced is the agent in question? A newer agent is more likely to be building their client list or accept revisions, but they have less to their name. A more experienced agent has a solid track record, but will be harder to interest since they’ll already have a substantial client list.
  • Does s(he) represent other genres/age groups you are interested in exploring in the future? If not, do they work with other agents who do?
  • What are your overall impressions? Does something on the agent’s blog impress you? What sort of vibes do you get from their Twitter feed? Does something they say in an interview make you jump up and down and go “AHHH, OMG, MY BOOK IS JUST LIKE THAT”? Information is an invaluable resource, but instincts can be just as significant. Trust yours.

What’s left? Submit. Wait. Repeat as necessary (though you may want to query in batches, and allow time for feedback to filter in so you can improve your material as you go).

Good luck!

 

6 thoughts on “Who should I submit to? – How To Research Agents and Target Submissions

  1. Hey Julie, am I correct in saying that QT and AQ are primarily for the US market? In the UK I think the (printed) Writers’ and Artists’ Yearbook is the standard #1 source. This also lists US agents & publishers but I’ve no idea how comprehensive those listings are.
    Good tips on the Twitter searches 🙂
    I’m marking time until I get some expert feedback at a writers’ festival in a few weeks, then I’ll be setting off down this road.

    • Hey Roy! Yes, I’d say that’s pretty accurate. In my own searches I came across a few international agents based in other countries (Israel, Australia, the UK), but the majority of agents in the QueryTracker and AgentQuery databases seem to be based in the US. But I suppose some US agents also represent foreign authors…you never know until you look ’em up!

      Excited to hear that about the festival and your own future querying! That’s great– and if I’m not mistaken, a new route for you? Best with both!

  2. Great advice, Julie. I have made a list of agents from the twitter #MSWL hashtag, which I’ll start submitting to when my manuscript is ready.

    Good lick with Juniper!

      • Thanks, Rochelle! And good luck to you with The Calling!

        On a personal/unrelated note, I have to tell you that I LOVE the stuff you re[blog? tumble?] on tumblr! I’m trying to get into using tumblr more myself but so far it just hasn’t happened. I keep getting sucked in to all the amazing/useful/hilarious book-and/or-writing-related things people are sharing!

        • Thanks.

          I have found that Tumblr is the hardest social media to get followers on. After 2 years I only have 149. Maybe I need to follow heaps more people? They are less reluctant to follow back though, that’s what I’ve found anyway. I only follow book/writing blogs and I could spend hours going through them! I don’t think it is possible to ‘quickly check tumblr’.

What's the word?

