Colbert on Harry/Hermione

By now you’ve probably heard that J.K. Rowling said she regretted pairing Hermione with Ron in her household-name Harry Potter series, and that Hermione should’ve ended up with Harry. As you are probably also aware, the announcement has stirred up considerable brouhaha among many readers and fans. Some reacted emotionally. Some hurled hardbacks across the room. Others furiously flung themselves onto Twitter and bemoaned the news to 137 followers in distressed capital letters.

But not everyone is making a stink about it. Some– star-spangled comedian Stephen Colbert, for instance– have taken the news in stride. Colbert, embracing the news on his show last Monday, even offered suggestions for subsequent HP novels: Harry Potter and the Realization He’s Made a Huge Mistake ( “Harry turns his back on his wife and kids and has an illicit affair with Hermione at the Hogsmeade Best Western.”), and Ron Weasley and the Studio Apartment of Shame (“Ron goes on fantastic adventures with his new best friends: a bottle of tequila and a futon found on the curb.”). Covers: HILARIOUS. Watch the full two-minute segment here, or by clicking the image below.

I do not take a position on the issue at hand. I’m sharing this mainly because it brings together two of my favorite things: books I enjoyed and intelligent comedy. Also, I laughed a lot. I hope you do, too.

5 thoughts on “Colbert on Harry/Hermione

  1. The Best Western and Room 414 3/4 … a classic Colbert line. It’s amazing to me how quickly the writers for the Daily Show and the Colbert Report are able to come up with such good work skewering the day’s news. As for Rowling’s “announcement” — as far as I’m concerned she should have never made it.

  2. I respectfully disagree with JKR. H&H would be just too serious. Ron & Ginny help lighten up each of them and make for a happier life. Besides, this way Harry and Hermione both joined the Weasley clan….But it is JKR’s right to say it.

  3. Ooh, controversial! I can understand why Rowling said it (I always wonder if I should have written things differently in my novels and am constantly questioning myself even when I’ve finished writing a novel), but I have to wonder if she wanted to create some hype as Emma Watson was guest editing the magazine?!

What's the word?

