Eveline, by Julie Israel

Hoorah! Underneath the Juniper Tree put “Eveline” (my poem after Poe’s “The Raven”) up on their website! Check it out 🙂

Underneath the Juniper Tree

Every so often, we receive works that we fall in love with, but due to limited space, we cannot put them in the magazine. Here is a poem that exceeds our limit for poetry, but we loved it so much, we decided to share. Thank you Julie Israel for sending “Eveline” to us! All of you may visit her website at http://www.julieisrael.com

 

Eveline

by Julie Israel

The clouds a brew and darkness falling, one night I paced the graveyard, stalling

Where youths had grouped and aimed their boots at a yowling shadow under pines.

I quickened my step, halfway stumbling, and yelled and chased and threatened grumbling

When that velvet creature crumbling under kicks did my mind define—

‘Leave it be!’ shouted I; the youth did flee and mind define

A cat coal black and half-alive.

 

On this of nights, All Hallows’ Eve, I thought it were not…

View original post 1,163 more words

7 thoughts on “Eveline, by Julie Israel

  1. Well Julie, poetry is not my thing and I’m no judge. But I skimmed through this, then found The Raven and read it through twice, before re-reading Eveline. I think it’s quite brilliant. You really must treat us to more of your work.

What's the word?

