Variation On “You’re Trapped on an Island…”

Bad news: they just announced a meteor the size of Donald Trump’s ego is hurtling towards a fire-y (get it? “You’re Fired”?) orange collision with earth.

We’ll never make it!

Good news: you’ve got a seat on a shuttle out. Let’s blow this popsicle stand!

You sure know how to travel. So long, suckers!

Bad news: space is limited. You don’t even get a full suitcase. You probably won’t be able to fit any more than three books in the box you’re allotted.

Hope you weren’t overly fond of shoes.

The question: which three books do you take? This is the end of the world as we know it, remember…so

16 thoughts on “Variation On “You’re Trapped on an Island…”

    • Oh, mais vous Γͺtes maline! For the sake of argument, let’s say that Kindle and any other electronic technology interferes with your Balloon-House-Shuttle technology. It is, unfortunately, banned. What now?

      • Or there will be no outlet to charge your Kindle with…

        I guess I’ll take one Murakami novel (don’t ask me which) to escape reality, fairy tales by the Grimm brothers to read to my (future) kids, and THE BIBLE! Just kidding. I’m torn between “1984”, as a measure of how bad future society will get, and the complete short stories collection by Katherine Mansfield, in case the world will no longer be as beautiful as she describes it.

        By the time I made my decision I would’ve probably been squished into a t-wig (Get it? Trump’s wig?) lol..

        • T-wig! I LIKE IT. As do I like your choices (though I must admit, I’ll have to look into this Katherine Mansfield character and her work a little more thoroughly)! Murakami is definitely one of my favorite authors and I would probably have to take something by him, too…don’t ask me which one, either ;P

  1. I love the masochism of this question… and while my answers are sort of cheating, it does fit the letter in that they’re omnibuses…

    1) Complete Works of Shakespeare
    2) Lawrence Durrell’s “The Alexandria Quartet”
    3) Edward St. Aubyn’s “The Patrick Melrose Novels”

  2. 1. Terraforming: Engineering Planetary Environments by Martin J. Fogg
    2. The Great American Songbook (you know, for sing-alongs).
    3. A blank book to hold our memories and a new mythology.

  3. 1. Lord of the Rings
    2. Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy
    3. Dummies guide to card-games

    Don’t know what it says about me, but I wouldn’t take any of the classics of literature… because I know I wouldn’t read them πŸ˜›

    • No point in taking books you wouldn’t read! LOTR and Hitchhicker’s are cult classics, one might say… πŸ˜‰ Or maybe LOTR has too wide a following now for that (but at any rate, is a more recent “classic” if you will).

      Nice move with the guide (though I do hope somebody brought a deck of cards!).

  4. Pingback: The Liebster Award | sairyou.me

What's the word?

