Write The Next Line! – Couplet Rhyme

——-The resulting poem from Tuesday’s round of Couplet Rhyme—–

On the side of the road was a leathery shoe
Tattered, worn, held together by glue
So I sang and I waltzed and picked up my cobbling tool.
I placed it upon my svelte foot
Wishing, oh wishing for a elegant boot
Or even a Blahnik or Jimmy Choo
Yet here it sits, just a leathery shoe
Alone and mate-less, a pair no more
Where is the other one, boo I say, boo
The luck in finding this one, what more can I ask for
To have two would be twice as nice

And to have Choos would be thrice –

But one shoe must do; though grateful, I am poor.

Thanks to runningsober, Bastet, Papizilla, Lilith Colbert, and kingmidget for playing! We deviated a bit from the scheme of things, but we still had fun, right? I tried to round off our renegade rhyme in the last two lines 😉

We all know and love a good couplet rhyme, right? The old AA, BB, CC– when the rhyme looks something like this, as in The Princess Bride:

Inigo:  Vizzini, he can… fuss.
Fezzik:  Fuss, fuss… I think he likes to scream… at us.
Inigo:  Probably he means no… harm.
Fezzik:  He’s really very short on… charm!
Inigo:  Ah, You have a great gift for rhyme.
Fezzik:  Yes, yes, some of the time.
Vizzini:  Enough of that!
Inigo:  Fezzik, are there rocks ahead?
Fezzik:  If there are, we’ll all be dead!
Vizzini:  No more rhymes now, I mean it!
Fezzik:  Anybody want a peanut?

So today I’m offering a first line and asking you, the readers, to take it away from there. You can post as many times as you like and about absolutely anything– just try to follow the rhyme scheme AA, BB, etc. as we play off of one another! At the end of the day I’ll post the resulting poem here.

Up for the challenge? Here we go…

On the side of the road was a leathery shoe

10 thoughts on “Write The Next Line! – Couplet Rhyme

  1. On the side of the road was a leathery shoe
    “Bastet and Running On Sober Replies here”
    I placed it upon my svelte foot
    Wishing, oh wishing for a elegant boot

  2. On the side of the road was a leathery shoe
    Tattered, worn, held together by glue
    So I as sang and I waltzed and picked up my cobbling tool.
    I placed it upon my svelte foot
    Wishing, oh wishing for a elegant boot
    Or even a Blahnik or Jimmy Choo
    Yet here it sits, just a leathery shoe

  3. On the side of the road was a leathery shoe
    Tattered, worn, held together by glue
    So I as sang and I waltzed and picked up my cobbling tool.
    I placed it upon my svelte foot
    Wishing, oh wishing for a elegant boot
    Or even a Blahnik or Jimmy Choo
    Yet here it sits, just a leathery shoe
    Alone and mate-less, a pair no more

  4. On the side of the road was a leathery shoe
    Tattered, worn, held together by glue
    So I as sang and I waltzed and picked up my cobbling tool.
    I placed it upon my svelte foot
    Wishing, oh wishing for a elegant boot
    Or even a Blahnik or Jimmy Choo
    Yet here it sits, just a leathery shoe
    Alone and mate-less, a pair no more
    Where is the other one, boo I say, boo
    The luck in finding this on, what more can I ask for

  5. I think we’ve lost the AA, BB, CC rhyming scheme, so I’m just going for it…

    On the side of the road was a leathery shoe
    Tattered, worn, held together by glue
    So I as sang and I waltzed and picked up my cobbling tool.
    I placed it upon my svelte foot
    Wishing, oh wishing for a elegant boot
    Or even a Blahnik or Jimmy Choo
    Yet here it sits, just a leathery shoe
    Alone and mate-less, a pair no more
    Where is the other one, boo I say, boo
    The luck in finding this on, what more can I ask for
    To have two would be twice as nice.

What's the word?

