The Reality Award

So I was tempted to open with something like, “What am I up to? Oh, not much– just keepin’ it REAL, kids,” and then I realized nobody says “keepin’ it real” anymore. If they did. Ever. In actual conversation.

Then I realized this revelation was appropriately ironic to the nature of the award which, if a name is any cue, celebrates those who are realists. I.e., myself.

Ta-da! Introduction complete. Now I am not only a realist but, being ironic, a hipster.

WHAT.

Now to the award, which entails answering five questions and then nominating another five bloggers that know how to keep it…genuine. Many thanks to cool dog Papizilla for the nomination!

 

1. If you could change something, what would you change?

Not to be a hackneyed Ms. America or anything, but it would be phenomenal if there were peace instead of war in the world.

(Especially after having read The Fate of the Species), I would have people be more informed of their impact on the environment and make caring for our planet a higher priority.

More local foods. People eating healthy.

I would also promote the value of introverts.

2. If you could repeat an age, what age would it be?

I want to say like, nineteen or twenty. Still in college, I would go study abroad in France for a year and have life-changing/life-defining experiences.

3. What one thing really scares you?

Failure. Which is odd, because I also believe in the power of failure to drive hard work, big risks and bigger success.

I’m not overly fond of clowns, either.

4. What one dream have you not completed yet and do you think you will be able to complete it?

Publication, and to be a career author thereafter.

Do I think I can? Yes. Because if I have anything it’s patience, and if I have anything else it’s determination. I. Will. Make it. Happen.

5. If you could be someone else for a day, who would you be?

Weird to think about, but the first person that popped into my head was comedian Russell Howard. I would love to be him for a day and have the chance to trade witty banter with some of the world’s sharpest minds on Mock the Week—and all in a brilliant English accent.

And of course, if my performance fell miserably short, I would laugh it off and be me the next day.

Alright, fellow realists, it’s all you! If you’ve received a pingback from me I am hereby nominating you by virtue of your awesome down-to-earthity to partake in this award. I hope, piddly, digital alternative though it is to a cheeky drink or chat and coffee, you might give it a go.

Here are the authentic five:

  1. Kirsty Grant of kirstywirsty
  2. Laura Hogan of Just one more edit
  3. Michele of Tiny Morning
  4. Featherhead of A Fantasy Come True
  5. Christy of Running on Sober

16 thoughts on “The Reality Award

  1. Congratulations and well deserved indeed young lady! I also have a healthy fear of clowns. Tim Curry ruined clowns for me, forever. 🙂

  2. Pingback: My socks don’t match and Julie doesn’t care « Tiny Morning

  3. Thanks so much for thinking of me, Julie!
    My apologies for the late response. I haven’t been on-line much, too much “reality” lately, LOL.
    I hope you are doing well my dear (I really loved your short story month!).

    • You’re very welcome, Christy! No worries on the timeline…I tend to come around to these things at my own hour, too (if at all– as you say, “reality” first, lol).

      Thanks so much for mentioning the month of short stories. It was a lot of work and I did it with efforts to improve my writing, but it always makes my day when somebody says they enjoyed it 🙂

  4. Pingback: Is That the Sun? | Running On Sober

What's the word?

