Tech-Cleanse / Sabbath. Your thoughts?

I read an article a few months back which put forth the idea of taking a Tech Sabbath, or one day a week completely free of electronics (no TV, computer, Facebook, Twitter, or parking in front of any screen of any kind), with the intention of drinking in the world/replenishing one’s mind/body/spirit/eyesight. For the author herself, it had worked wonders.

Before I release the rambling hounds that are my own thoughts on this matter, I will ask you, the readers, today’s Forum Friday question: What are your thoughts about / experiences with disengaging from technology on a regular basis? What rules, if any, have you played by, and what did the results look like?

I am especially interesting in hearing from other writers.

Me, I had two reactions initially:

  1. That sounds lovely!
  2. I’m a writer.Β How am I meant to part with my computer (and my many scrawling notes, and outlines, and research documents, and thesaurus, and music, and the internet, which I intend to use for research, but invariably use for mindless shenanigans) for 52 days of the year? DO YOU KNOW how much productivity lost that is? DO YOU?

…Then again, if I spent 52 days of the year entirely away from the screen…

  1. I would probably get less headaches (+)
  2. more exercise (+)
  3. spend more time downtown (+) and more money (-)
  4. read more (+)
  5. write more without constantly hitting delete (+++++)
  6. but feel at a loss without my outlining documents (—)
  7. feel more refreshed (+)
  8. do more hands-on, artistic projects with tangible results (+)
  9. meet more people (+) and experience more (+)
  10. maybe pick up a new hobby? (+) volunteer? (+) 52 days a year is a LOT.

Alright, so when I make a pros and cons list it doesn’t look so bad. Maybe it wouldn’t equate to productivity lost at all. (It’s not like I’m constantly at the computer, either– but to go for whole days at a time without using it is rare for me.)

I keep coming back to that number, 52. Since I’m chasing my dreams I feel a sort of constant need to be productive and working towards achieving those distant goals, and part of me is stubbornly reluctant to surrender my main tool for that work.

But maybe a tech sabbath would be good for me. Maybe I’ll give it a try.

At least for a single day…and go from there.

4 thoughts on “Tech-Cleanse / Sabbath. Your thoughts?

  1. You already know my thoughts – it is a great idea! As much as I like blogging and all of the interesting, intriguing, and otherwise attention stealing things one founds via Net, I honestly doubt that any of the great (truly great) novels of 19th (or any other except ours for that matter) century would be written if their authors lived and worked in our world where every single moment of every single day demands of us to be connected, on the grid as the kids say!

    Take Care,
    Daniela

  2. I’m online pretty much 100% at home and at work. However, I refuse to carry around my connectivity with me and I have the most basic mobile phone. And when I’m on holiday it’s surprising how easy it is not to be online for days at a time. The world, strangely enough, keeps turning.

What's the word?

