On Blogging with Serial Themes (Your Thoughts?)

Not long after I graduated I realized the importance of structure. Structure helps us manage our time, learn better and faster; work toward goals; thread disconnected scraps together with a common theme to make coherence of our past, present, and very selves. Or what feels like a load of bollocks, which, arranged neatly within that institutionalized structure we call a thesis paper, tends to receive an agreeable letter grade.

In this my modest blog I have made several attempt at structure. I first became an active blogger with the Writer’s Relief 30 Day Know Thyself Writing Challenge; I later introduced Forum Fridays, a weekly series of open discussion on various elements of writing; presently I am in the middle of a 30 Day Short Story Challenge in which I read a different short story every day and give a synopsis and what I learned, craft-wise, here.

I like running themes on blogs. Having structure means no (or at least less) head-scratching when it comes to figuring out what to post and personally, I think it has helped me connect more with a target audience. Forum Fridays, for example, have attracted more writers.

I am really enjoying my current series (30 Short Stories), personally– the reading is great, I’m learning loads, I’ve picked up at least a few new followers along the way, and today something rare happened: I was seized by an idea and began penning a new short story! πŸ™‚

Point is, I’m enjoying it so much I think I might want to do another series once I finish this one. I like the 30 days element (or at least having a theme for the month) and am entertaining the idea of a letter theme for my next ongoing series.

Anywho, all that yammer leads me to today’s Forum Friday question: Have you ever run a serial theme on your blog? If so, what was it and what did you learn from it?

If not, are there any themes you would like to do?

Hint: suggestions welcome πŸ˜‰

8 thoughts on “On Blogging with Serial Themes (Your Thoughts?)

  1. I really like theme blogging; I wish I was better at it. I tried to do a 30 Day Blogging Challenge once and that didn’t go very well (I did not finish it). I did do a Firefly/Serenity themed series those. Ten posts for their tenth anniversary. I had guest bloggers, which was really fun. Right now I am just trying to get on a regular blogging schedule. I hope you keep doing themes, though! I think they are great.

    • Ooh, that sounds like fun! Hmm…if I did a TV-related one it would probably end up being about Pretty Little Liars (which is actually based on a book series)…*smiles guiltily* that show is my closet favorite. Guest posts sound like a great idea, too. One of these days I really ought to give that shot.

      I know what you mean about the schedule, though. One of the best things about a 30-day challenge is a double-edged sword: commitment. It does wonders for your writing and audience, but it can be a pretty big timesuck, too. I can’t imagine doing two writing-intensive 30 themes back to back or blogging every day of the year.

      A bit of a backpedal, but might I ask which of your themes you found to be most successful? Thanks for contributing your thoughts! πŸ™‚

      • My most successful theme was definitely the Firefly/Serenity one, if only because it got people involved with my blog that weren’t involved before, and got some readers that hadn’t been around before. I don’t know that they stuck around, but…

        I would also say that one was most successful because it was short. That meant that I didn’t have to worry about more than a few posts, and I didn’t get bored with it and stop posting.

  2. Right now I’m focusing on the family fun times I have experienced or am experiencing, I like the idea of a 30 day theme. Sort of like chapters in a blog and each month being a new book!

    • That’s a wonderful metaphor! And I must say, I have rather enjoyed your family stories– it’s good to know my family aren’t the only crazy characters out there, hehe.

      SPEAKING of which, that has me thinking: weird family habits (like language or singing random things aloud) would make fun story character traits! πŸ™‚

  3. I have done things like Youtubesday(where I scour Youtube for awful videos, or infomercials to “review”), WTF? Wednesday(Odd news stories of the day that make you go hmmm), Super Swinging Saturday Music Day(where I place videos of songs to entertain). So far none of them have taken off. 😦 I do like the 30 day idea, though that is a big commitment right there, and to be honest, I am kind of a slacker when it comes to blogging… πŸ˜€

    • My my my, but I do like the sound of Super Swinging Saturday! (I am remembering now your end of the year playlist with Final Countdown– are they all that epic? :)) Also, WTF Wednesday? Brilliant!

      Do agree, though– 30 days is a commitment and (depending on the content of the theme) might amount to a massive time suck! I’ll probably pick an easier theme next time πŸ™‚

What's the word?

