Dear Writers: Do you ever worry…?

It’s Forum Fabulous Friday, and as such I’ve another wily question for all you writers out there:

Do you ever worry (just a little? in the back of your mind? even laughingly?) about the things you type into Google? How about the library books you check out?

I mean, if someone was to look at your search history and library records, what do you suppose they’d make of you?

As writers we must research for the sake of our work. That comes with the territory. But there’s not exactly a disclaimer you can tack on to your searches, is there? “Oh, don’t mind me, I’m just a little ol’ writer lookin’ up the most lethal, undetectable poison known to man! Ho-hum! Defintely not a person of interest!”

I do say this laughingly, but given the existence of things such as the Patriot Act one has to wonder if there isn’t some prolific backlist of people (innocuous writers!) pegged as potential dangers to the public health.

A friend of mine is writing a fictional novel about cannibals and as such has checked out a half dozen books on cannibalism, and probably a half dozen more about psychopaths and sadists.

Me, in the last couple weeks alone (for the sake of my novel in progress) I’ve looked up things like “what protection does a standard bank vault have?” “does chloroform have a smell?” and “smallest tracking devices.” Before that I did a bit of research on biometric security measures and CCTV cameras, and before that (oh, nine chapters back?) I did a HELL of a lot of research on blood.

To top it all off I just started watching Dexter—a surprisingly addictive show about a blood spatter analyst (who is actually a psychopath incapable of emotion) that has a secret life as a vigilante killer.

Christ, I hope I can finish this novel before a SWAT team drops out of the sky!!!

P.S. For a laugh, check out some of the great stuff that came up when I looked for ridiculous Google searches.

 

5 thoughts on “Dear Writers: Do you ever worry…?

  1. Oh that made me laugh -:)! Thank you -:)!

    My vote goes to ‘What is a boyfriend and where I can download one’ … priceless! And I also hate when there is a tiger in the bathroom!

    To answer your question … well no, I do not worry even a slightest bit! After all – I am on an island -:)!

    • Hehe, I think I agree. Although “my wife left town with a banana” could certainly give it a run for its money!

      Hmm…I suppose the US is among the more / the most paranoid when it comes to anything that might be connected to terrorism…it’s good to be a Kiwi, eh? 😉

  2. I read that last one as “oh my God, Jesus rides dinosaurs in my house.” Yeah really God, come on, You need to keep a closer eye on that Son of Yours! Then God would be like, “Nobody likes a tattler.”

    Fun post! I can only imagine my crazy searches. Sigh.

    • LOL I like the way you think. C’MON God, get it together!

      Have you ever done research for a writing piece? I’m sure you have looked up some whimsical things…you’d be surprised what absurdities you can find in your own search history! 😉

  3. Now that I think of it, I am very surprised I haven’t had visitors of an authority nature. I was kicking around a Gang/Terror type book and did some searches and library reading on explosives and where to find them. Also guns. I am not a gun person so I was amazed at how many different kinds and styles there were. Yikes, maybe it is a good thing I don’t fly, I bet I am on a list somewhere… 🙂

What's the word?

