Forum Friday is BACK: Where do you write?

For those of you with me since or before the month of August, you may have caught some of my previous Forum Friday posts. These posts aimed to create an open discussion for writers on a given topic related to writing.

After a near-month hiatus (August was my trial run) I have decided to resume and continue the series. As I experience many firsts in the world of novel-writing for myself, I am often wondering How other writers do this?

For today: Where do you write? Where do you find you are most productive? Least productive? Do tell πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Forum Friday is BACK: Where do you write?

  1. I carry my laptop just about everywhere! The original idea was to write in a small room equipped with a desk … but I found myself writing in bed, on the couch … bathroom is just about any place left free of me and my laptop! My down time in terms of writing is of course when I am at work – the one that they pay me to do!

  2. Generally, on my laptop while sitting in my recliner. Music is on. Sometimes the TV is on with a baseball game and the sound turned down. Occasionally, I sit in the backyard when I want some outside ambience. And even more rarely, I take my laptop go somewhere away from home and spend some time writing.

    • Just curious: do you find that the tone of the scene you’re working on dictates the conditions you need to write in? (Or perhaps vice-versa: that your writing environment can influence your piece?)

      • I don’t think so. It’s more what my frame of mind is. Laptop and recliner are where I write most of the time, but every once in awhile I just need to get away from that spot, so I go outside or sit at the kitchen table. Same for the vice-versa — I don’t think the environment influences my piece. The biggest influencer is what’s in my head, the mood I’m in.

  3. I’m glad you’ve brought Forum Friday back πŸ™‚ I write in bed, on my laptop. Sometimes in the dark, sometimes not. It depends on what mood I need to capture to write (depending on particular scenes). But it’s always lying back in bad πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for your support, Virginia πŸ™‚

      You must have a good setup in bed. Do you use a memory foam pillow, or sit outside the covers, perhaps? I find sitting up against my pillows to be uncomfortable, so that I gradually slide down, and then when I slide too far I fall asleep… πŸ˜‰

      • LOL thats the trouble – get too comfy and my eyes start closing πŸ™‚ But generally, I have about 5 pillows stacked behind me and the covers on top – I can’t lie down in bed without covers, even in the summer.Weird, I know πŸ™‚

What's the word?

