Writing Challenge, Day 15: Thank Your Teachers

 

30 Day Know Thyself Writing Challenge

Day 15: Which writer or teacher most influenced your work?

My grandmother, who taught me to love words (with Mad Libs, Balderdash, Apples to Apples, storybooks, chap books, letters, inscriptions, etc.); my parents, who have always encouraged and supported me, even though they are not avid readers themselves (with bedtime stories, diaries, and always a ready ear); every teacher who has ever read aloud in class and shown me the magic of story (extra points for Choose Your Own Adventure); a writing mentor and friend who taught me craft, the importance of risk, and to embrace the unconventional (thank you, thank you, thank you, I LOVE Keri Smith).

Every writer I read influences my work in some way, as do the teachers I have studied under.

What's the word?

